Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#21
Vince Velasquez
ERA W-L K
4.08 2-3 45
Team: PhiladelphiaHt / Wt: 6-3 / 203
Position: SPBorn: 6/7/1992 Birthplace: Montclair, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Astros (2010)


Latest News
June 16 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST2:39 PM CST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 2-4, allowing four runs on four hits in 2.1 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Atlanta Braves 15-1 on Sunday. Velasquez struck out four, ending the game with a 4.71 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
June 14 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)9:54 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Atlanta Braves 9-8 on Friday. Velasquez struck out one, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
June 12 6:28 PM PT7:28 PM MT8:28 PM CT9:28 PM ET21:28 ET1:28 GMT9:28 6:28 PM MST8:28 PM EST7:28 PM CST8:58 PM VEN5:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 2-0 on Wednesday. Velasquez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.12 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
June 9 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 on Sunday. Velasquez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.23 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
June 7 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Vince Velasquez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-2 on Friday. Velasquez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.38 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
June 5 4:17 PM PT5:17 PM MT6:17 PM CT7:17 PM ET19:17 ET23:17 GMT7:17 4:17 PM MST6:17 PM EST5:17 PM CST6:47 PM VEN3:17 UAE (+1)6:17 PM CT-Vince Velasquez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the San Diego Padres 7-5 on Wednesday. Velasquez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
June 2 4:12 PM PT5:12 PM MT6:12 PM CT7:12 PM ET19:12 ET23:12 GMT7:12 4:12 PM MST6:12 PM EST5:12 PM CST6:42 PM VEN3:12 UAE (+1)6:12 PM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 2-3, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 0.2 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-0 on Sunday. Velasquez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.67 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
June 2 10:04 PM PT11:04 PM MT12:04 AM CT1:04 AM ET1:04 ET5:04 GMT13:04 10:04 PM MST12:04 AM EST11:04 PM CST12:34 AM VEN9:04 UAE12:04 AM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed one run - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-3 on Saturday. Velasquez struck out two, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 26 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST3:05 PM CST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed four runs on five hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 9-1 on Sunday. Velasquez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.64 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
May 24 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST9:37 PM CST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)10:37 PM CT-Vince Velasquez improved to 2-2, allowing one hit and one walk over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 6-4 on Friday. Velasquez struck out four, ending the game with a 3.62 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 12 12:05 AM PT1:05 AM MT2:05 AM CT3:05 AM ET3:05 ET7:05 GMT15:05 12:05 AM MST2:05 AM EST1:05 AM CST2:35 AM VEN11:05 UAE2:05 AM CT-Velasquez (right forearm strain) has been activated from the injured list but will work out of the bullpen.
Analysis: Velasquez pitched well early on but really struggled in his final two starts prior to hitting the IL, allowing eight runs and eight walks over 7 2/3 innings in those outings. Nick Pivetta will take his rotation spot, at least for now.
May 6 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 1-2, allowing five runs on four hits and five walks in 4.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-0 on Monday. Velasquez struck out three, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Vince Velasquez fell to 1-1, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks in 3.2 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Detroit Tigers 3-1 on Tuesday. Velasquez struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Vince Velasquez improved to 1-0, allowing three hits and three walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the New York Mets 6-0 on Wednesday. Velasquez struck out six, ending the game with a 1.99 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST11:11 PM CST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE12:11 AM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed two runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.2 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Colorado Rockies 4-3 on Friday. Velasquez struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.55 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST3:56 PM CST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed one run on two hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Miami Marlins 3-1 on Sunday. Velasquez struck out four, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 6:42 PM PT7:42 PM MT8:42 PM CT9:42 PM ET21:42 ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST8:42 PM EST7:42 PM CST9:12 PM VEN5:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-Vince Velasquez allowed two runs on four hits in 5.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Washington Nationals 4-3 on Monday. Velasquez struck out two, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Vince Velasquez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Washington Nationals 8-2 on Tuesday. Velasquez struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Hou 1 1 0 - 0 19 7 0 55.2 50 28 27 5 21 0 58 1.28 4.37
2016 Phi 8 6 0 - 0 24 24 1 131.0 129 64 60 21 45 1 152 1.33 4.12
2017 Phi 2 7 0 - 0 15 15 0 72.0 74 44 41 15 34 1 68 1.50 5.13
2018 Phi 9 12 0 - 0 31 30 0 146.2 138 83 79 16 59 1 161 1.34 4.85
2019 Phi 2 3 0 - 0 16 6 0 39.2 39 19 18 10 21 2 45 1.51 4.08
Career 22 29 0 - 0 105 82 1 445.0 430 238 225 67 180 5 484 1.37 4.55

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Phi 24 40 4 8 1 0 0 0 1 16 0 0 .200 .220 .225
2017 Phi 16 24 1 6 0 0 0 1 1 4 0 0 .250 .280 .250
2018 Phi 32 40 2 9 1 0 0 1 0 11 0 0 .225 .225 .250
2019 Phi 16 8 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .125 .222 .125
Career 107 112 7 24 2 0 0 2 3 31 0 0 .214 .235 .232


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 526 98 90 94.5 69.85
Curveball 80 86 81 83.9 10.62
Slider 141 91 81 86.8 18.73
Changeup 6 90 88 89.3 .8

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.